Mrs. Pauley

Mrs. Pauley

Ok, so I’m chillin’ outside with some peeps, right.  Then 5-O came rolling up on Mrs. P’s house like she was Jeffrey Damer, kid.  I was tight.  They have no idea who she is to me!  She’s like my grandma Szon!

So then what happened?

I did what any person would do, who has a real life hero in their life being ganged up on.  I told some of my boys that I ain’t lettin’ dat go down like dat.  So me and my boyz stepped to them.

Were any of you armed at this time?

Armed?!  What the…?  No!  Look, let me explain something to you.  Mrs. P is a godsend to me.  You know how you hear kids growin’ up wit no pops, well I had no moms.  She was like that character Jada played in Pursuit of Happiness.  She just walked out!

How old were you?  And if you don’t mind, can you please expound on that situation?

I was like five. So now pops was struggling to do everything himself.  But by time I was like 9, I was mad at anyone that acted like they wanted to play some mother figure.  Then we moved here and I met Mrs. P.  She came to the house with blueberry pie.  And that was the craziest, because that was one of my favorite fruits.  But how did she know that?  Later on I found out that she spoke to my dad to welcome him to the neighborhood and warn him of the mama-wannabees and while talking she asked about my likes and stuff.  But the pie was secretly trashed that day.

Did she ever learn of that?

Nope and I don’t plan on telling her.  Anyway, I couldn’t let them come like that and do nothing, no matter what they coming for.  She was nice to me no matter how rude I was, that was until she put me in my place.  I guess it kindof helped that she had an older son that caught her talking to me and was ready to reinforce at all cost.  It didn’t help my rude cause by my pops asking her to watch me and make sure I get on the bus in the morning and pick me up in the afternoon too.  You know, I don’t want to be rude but are we almost done here?

Okay so, let’s  bring this up-to-date.  The cops come.  You “step” to them and they start to arrest you, feeling threatened.

Yep.  But long story short, I made a deal with the landlord, that if he would give us one month to raise the money needed, would he consider steppin’ off.  He was starting to come out his face with nonsense, but he agreed.  So my boys and I got with some friends at Boys and Girls Club; my dad worked the attention of the women on the block and we contacted some of our favorite hip hop artist too.  Next thing we know, we got more money than we could imagine and I’m sitting here wit you.

Thank you so much Titek.  Btw, your name is unusual…

Yeah, I know.  I was mad at moms for that too before, but the girls like it, so I roll wit it.

Well, I’m curious. What does it mean?

[lol] Ok, so from what I can remember, my mom was big into greek mythology but wanted something close to my dad’s name who’s Derek.  So instead of naming me Titan, she combined the first part of that with the end of my father’s name and now you have Titek = defender. Some people say it also means honored.

Well both meanings aptly fit such a phenomenal young man like yourself.  Thanks for doing this interview for Kidzamm! Press, who also is putting $2000 toward your college tuition.

Sweet.


 

BACKDROP:

Writing 101, Day Eighteen: Hone Your Point of View

Craft a story from the perspective of a twelve-year-old observing it all. For your twist, focus on specific character qualities, drawing from elements we’ve worked on in this course, like voice and dialogue.

The neighbourhood has seen better days, but Mrs. Pauley has lived there since before anyone can remember. She raised a family of six boys, who’ve all grown up and moved away. Since Mr. Pauley died three months ago, she’d had no income. She’s fallen behind in the rent. The landlord, accompanied by the police, have come to evict Mrs. Pauley from the house she’s lived in for forty years.

Today’s prompt: write this story in first person, told by the twelve-year-old sitting on the stoop across the street.


 I love when I hear of the youth doing inspiring things, so I had to show this young man stepping up to the plate and doing something positive. I hope you enjoyed.

Tx.

Leave a Reply

