Another one bite’s the dust

Another one bite’s the dust

Not to often do I directly deal with the assignment posted, but this time I will.  I will now because I struggled with finding something to identify with. The challenge was:

Your Voice Will Find You

You’re told that an event that’s dear to your heart — an annual fair, festival, or conference — will be cancelled forever (or taken over by an evil organization). Write about it. For your twist, read your piece aloud, multiple times. Hone that voice of yours!

So I decided for the first time to get an idea of how someone responded to this challenge, and it helped me a bit. I read the post of Granonine. Reason being, she mentioned getting emotional.  I couldn’t fathom why anyone would from the assignment given us.  Nevertheless, her writing has caused me to realize that I can move in another way, though I knew this already -crazy how the mind works.

I started thinking of an event that I enjoyed eventhough I did not love it.  It was a position I had with a major insurance company and had met some incredible women there.  One woman was over 40 but was taking up dance class for the first time.  One style in particular was tap and she had invited my husband and I to her recital.  She showed me the art of wearing a wig with honor.  I thought it was for people who were hair-follicly challenged.  She had great hair but periodically she would braid it up and cover it with a wig that greatly resembled her own hair.  Then there was a woman who was only about seven years older than me who was just cool. Her stories were hilarious to me.  Like her ability to not be able to cook put her on the radar for every guy that could, or so it seems. These guys would be fixing these meals that Wolfgang Puck would pay to eat.  Now it wasn’t that she was the runway model type or that she was putting-out, as they say. She was just really cool and educated and her confidence made her even more attractive, because she was kinda cute too. 🙂 No really she was, because if it was not so…hone-e-ey,…yeah.

Then as time continued, this man joined my department who I wasn’t sure of at first, but we jelled well.  I trained him and he like myself was Temp-to-Perm.  Well, a perm position became available but I did not take it.  I was getting married soon and was working on getting a different job.  I encouraged him to go for it and he eventually got it. Bad move. Later on, a young lady joined my department, and she too was Temp-to-Perm.  I didn’t really train her, nor did I spend much time at all with her.  Well now I’m married and have the opportunity before me once again to go Perm and…

Won’t even say it.  My husband was not too happy with me.  Did I also mention that the other job I was going for did not happen? Well, it’s not over.  Guess who’s company is being sold to the highest bidder? The one I’m still temping at.  Guess who’s the first to get the boot? Temps. So there was a big evil corporation for me to use for the challenge, and I was it’s star player, my own henchman. Well, I’m grateful for the lessons learned and am learning.

So I hope you’ve enjoyed my post and that it remotely represented the intent of the assignment.  If it didn’t, then I guess I just exposed another part of myself for no reason. 🙂

 

Question: Can anyone figure out what was not made known in this reveal?

Hear some of these voices-

Joan

Nubian

StarGazed

Akeem

EnKay

 

 

4 thoughts on “Another one bite’s the dust

Leave a Reply

